Office Hours Monday – Friday
8:00am – 5:00pm
The office of the Probate Court performs many functions including, but not limited to, issuing marriage licenses and firearms licenses, maintaining vital records for Pickens County, administering traffic citations, and probate procedures such as probate of wills, administrations, and guardianships of minors and adults. The summaries below provide basic information on each function, but you can also click on the buttons to receive more detailed information regarding these matters.
Traffic Citations may be paid online with a Visa/Mastercard debit or credit card at www.ezcourtpay.com. Payments in the office may be made with cash, money order/cashier’s check, or Visa/Mastercard (processing fees apply). You may also mail a money order/cashier’s check to the office address. NO PERSONAL CHECKS WILL BE ACCEPTED. Payment of traffic fines must be received in the office no later than 4:00pm prior to the day of your arraignment in order to avoid a court appearance. Online payments must be made 2 days prior to the day of your arraignment. If you wait until the day of your scheduled arraignment, you must appear in court to pay your citation. Should you desire to contest your citation and have your case heard before a judge or jury, you must appear at your arraignment and enter a plea of not guilty. Your hearing will be scheduled for a later date where the officer and witnesses, if any, will be subpoenaed to testify.
Probate Court has exclusive jurisdiction over the probate of wills, administration of estates, temporary guardianships of minors, permanent guardianship and conservatorship over minor and adult wards, and applications for year’s support awards. There are filing fees associated with all petitions and these fees are due upon filing the petition. Once the proper paperwork is filed and the fees are paid, you will be scheduled a time to appear before the Judge and have your petition heard as all matters are handled by appointment only. Forms for these procedures and additional information are available in the office or online at www.gaprobate.gov.
Pickens County Probate Court is the custodian of vital records for Pickens County. You may obtain certified copies of birth and death certificates for a cost of $25.00 for the search fee and first copy, and $5.00 for each additional copy obtained at the same time for the same person. Georgia law dictates what relations may obtain a birth certificate for another person. Those relations are parent, child, spouse, grandparent and sibling. Please contact our office for further information regarding vital records, paternity acknowledgements, legitimations, amendments and corrections, and delayed birth certificates.
The Probate Court issues firearms licenses, also known as “Georgia Weapons Carry License” as governed by O.C.G.A.§16-11-126 through 134. Applicants are encouraged to read the applicable law prior to making application to ensure a better understanding of your rights and responsibilities. You may obtain a copy of the applicable law in the office. Applications will be accepted on normal business days between the hours of 8:00am – 4:00 pm. You must be a Pickens County resident and provide a valid photo ID. The fee for application and fingerprint processing is $76.00 ($30.00 for RENEWALS if you already have a valid Georgia issued weapons carry license) and you may pay by cash, money order/cashier’s check, Visa or MasterCard credit/debit card (processing fees apply). It takes approximately two weeks to process the application and mail the license to approved applicants. The license is valid for five (5) years, at which time you must reapply for a new license. Be aware that prior convictions for certain offenses will disqualify you from obtaining a firearms license. Some of those offenses include, but are not limited to, convictions arising out of domestic violence, weapons violations and drug related offenses, if you’ve not been free from supervision for at least five (5) years.
SAVE PROCESSING TIME BY CLICKING ON THE LINK BELOW to complete your Weapons Carry License application. You will receive a confirmation number upon completion which you will need to bring with you to the Probate Court office within two (2) weeks of completing the application, along with the application fee of $76.00 ($30.00 for RENEWALS if you already have a valid Georgia issued weapons carry license) and a current Georgia issued photo ID that reflects your Pickens County address. You will then be photographed, fingerprinted and the application process completed at that time and, if approved, you will receive your license in the mail within 2-3 weeks. APPLY ONLINE HERE
The cost for a marriage license is $76.00 payable by cash, money order/cashier’s check, Visa or Mastercard credit/debit card (processing fees apply). If you have had at least 6 hours of marriage counseling, you may receive a license at the reduced fee of $36.00. In order to receive the reduced fee, you must provide a Premarital counseling certificate available through the Probate Court and completed by the counselor. Marriage License Applications will be accepted on normal business days between the hours of 8:00am – 4:00 pm. Each applicant must provide a valid photo ID and a copy of your divorce decree if you have ever been divorced. If you do not have a photo ID, then you must provide at least two (2) of the following forms of identification that contain your full name and date of birth: certified birth certificate, foreign birth certificate with a certified English translation, court record, hospital admission card, selective service card, armed forces discharge papers, INS issued immigration, citizenship or alien papers, baptismal certificate or sworn affidavit by applicant attested to by two (2) people with valid photo identification.
All applicants 16 or 17 years of age must have both parents present to consent to the marriage license. NO EXCEPTIONS. No person under the age of 16 years may obtain a marriage license in the state of Georgia. NO EXCEPTIONS.